Building An Effective Banner Campaign
Banner advertising can dramatically help you increase traffic to your web site. Banner advertising can be a very cost effective marketing solution and can help you to gain access to millions of internet users. It can also prove to be a huge waste of time, even creating a net loss rather than increasing your bottom line. So we'll try to guide you onto the path to true results and a very successful Internet Marketing campaign using banner ads.
First things first: What's it going to cost you? Assuming you're going to design and building your own banners, you can still loose money on the cost of advertising if you're not careful. Work out the estimated cost of each banner advertising campaign:
Cost-per-Visitor: If you pay $10 per thousand impressions ($10/CPM), and you get a 2.0% click-through (20 visitors), your cost-per-visitor is $.50 ($10 per 20 visitors).
Cost-per-Sale: Now you know about what you're going to pay per visitor. So what does that amount to per sale? Well, if 1 in every 20 visitors buys your product, your cost per sale is $10.00.
Total Sale Amount : $9.95 USD Paypal's Fee Amount : -$0.59 USD Net Profit Amount : $9.36 USD
So if each sale of your product produces a gross profit of $9.36, then your net profit per-sale will be -$.64 ($9.36 gross profit - $10 cost-per-sale). This campaign is not profitable!
As you can see, something has to change in order to make a profit. That's why it's important to track and calculate every campaign. So what went wrong with this example?
-Paying too much for the banner space?
-Need a better click-through rate?
-Need to charge more for your product?
The truth is that only you have the information required to decide but at least at this point you're in a better position to make a qualified decision.
Return on Investment Ratios: Your return-on-investment (ROI), before non-marketing expenses, is 0.0% ($0.00 total net profits with a $10 investment).
Experiment by advertising on multiple sites or using different banners if your budget will allow it. Find the perfect campaigns that yield the highest ROI.
A few terms to know:
» CPM - Cost Per Impressions (The "M" comes from the Roman numeral for 1,000). So $20 CPM represents $20 per 1,000 displays of a banner). An Impressions is simply each time your banner is shown.
» CPC - Cost Per Click. You pay an agreed amount for each click-through to your site.
» Click-Through (CT) - A click on an ad which takes the viewer to another site.
» Click-Through Rate (CTR) - This is the number of people who click on an ad (banner or text link) divided by the number of displays of the ad, represented in percentages. Example: 500 people click on an ad that has been shown 10,000 times, which works out at: 500/10,000 X 100% = 5%.
» Run Of Site (ROS) - This means your banner will be displayed on all or most pages of the site.
Buying or Creating your own banners: You can find a graphic designer to create your banner or you can simply learn to design and build you own. We have done both on this site and our research shows almost equal results when using identical conditions. We're not going to give tutorials on banner design but we will offer a few tips to help get you started.
If you decide to purchase your banners: Do your research. There are many so called ' graphic designers' that have very little training or experience with any type of graphics much less internet marketing or banner advertising.
Get any promises or guarantees in writing. Keep in mind that anyone can setup shop online and many have no idea what they're doing to say the least.
Do it yourself banners: There are several options when it comes to creating your own banners. Again, we're not here to teach you how to design and build your own, just to guide you in the right direction.
Here are a few things to consider:
» Think through your design.
» Decide on a format.
» Flash or Animated.
» Image or HTML.
» The best banner size.
» Image load times.
Image or HTML? Well, most of the banners we see are image based, whether .gif, .jpg of flash. But there is another very simple alternative. The HTML banner. You can even combine images and HTML to create incredible banners. A couple benefits of using a HTML banner are:
» HTML banner will normally load faster.
» On a HTML banner, you can promote many links.
Banners sizes:
468 x 60.....Full banner
234 x 60.....Half banner
392 x 72.....Full banner with vertical navigation bar
120 x 240...Vertical banner
125 x 125...Square button
120 x 90.....Button #1
120 x 60.....Button #2
88 x 31.......Micro button
A few tips:
Use attractive and attention grabbing images. Keep your text short and simple.
Use proven key words like "free" and "now". "Free" is a very powerful incentive for the viewer to click on the button. Even the words "Click Here" can increase your click-through rate. Use a large font size for your message text. Create different versions of the banner. Test different banners to improve your click-through rate.
Animate your banner, but use as few frames as possible to keep the file size to a quick loading minimum. Test new banners with a Pay Per Click network, before you use them in Pay Per Impression campaigns. Many sites display two different banners on each page, while others display the same banner at the top "top fold" and bottom "bottom fold" of each page. When given a choice, it's usually best to choose the top fold of page because the viewer is more likely to see your banner. You can expect to pay a lot less for "bottom fold" of page banner spaces.
Brian Hawkins - Entrepreneur, Internet Marketer, Online business consultant, Author. Site owner and administrator of several sites including: http://www.extremesitepromotions.com/ and http://www.csc4u.com/ Brian Hawkins - Entrepreneur, Internet Marketer, Online business consultant, Author. Site owner and administrator of several sites including: http://www.extremesitepromotions.com/ and http://www.csc4u.com/
Related News
|
 |
 |
 |
RELATED ARTICLES
New Product Launch Checklist
Launching a new product or service is an exciting time and it is possible to overlook something in the rush to get that product or service to market. I developed the following checklist to make certain that I didn't make the same mistake twice. Hopefully it will keep you from making a mistake the first time.
Keep those Back end Sales Flowing 24/7 Using The Funnel Theory of Marketing and Automated Tools
The Funnel Theory of Marketing Relies on the fact that
it is far more expensive to attract new customers then to resell existing customers. By Combining Automated Sales techniques with the Funnel theory of marketing you can keep your Back End Sales Flowing 24/7
Do Online Business Ethics Exist?
In the world of online busines something has gone wrong. Something has gone badly wrong. In the pursuit of wealth and success business ethics have not so much fallen by the wayside as been torn up, stomped on and burned to ash. Where some loose form of rule may have applied before there now only exists chaos, greed and hype.
How to Get 100s of People into Your Downline(s) in Just a Few Months
I've been "seriously" working the Web since late 2000. I joined a few affiliate programmes in the early days - more than I could handle back then - and more or less gave up on every single one of them.
Beyond Viral Marketings Its Exponential Multiplication
Exponential Multiplication a Real Life Example:
Is There A Future For Spam?
Will you always be buried underneath a mountain of spam? Is there any light at the end of the tunnel? With the current flood of spam to your inbox and ever more devious practices on the part of spammers you'd be forgiven for thinking that spam is here to stay.
The Fatal Attraction of Online Marketers
Suppose you were offered 263 links coming into your website from 263 other websites all in one fell swoop. Everybody knows that the more inbound links you have, the higher you will rise in the search engine rankings.
With Todays Internet, Is Banner Advertising Worth Your Time?
A banner exchange program is a network of websites that group together to promote each other's website. This is a free service and to join you simply submit your website with the network.
Bring Spirit Into Your Online Business
For people who have decided to strike out on their own entrepreneurial careers, the currency of choice for lasting and meaningful compensation?and the primary reason they left the "rat race" is?spiritual fulfillment.
Five Common Misconceptions to Achieving Success with Your Online Business
How successful is your online business? Are you achieving the monetary rewards that you'd hoped to achieve when you set up your Web site?
The New State Of The Art Method For Making Money With Joint Ventures
If you are anything like me, you spend a lot of time researching joint ventures and going through the chore of analysing all the joint venture proposals you get on a daily basis in your inbox. I've often wondered if there was an easier way to find successful joint ventures, as serious marketers online all know the power of joint venture marketing.
How to Turn Your Articles into a Viral Traffic Stampede
By writing articles you can send targeted traffic to your website at any time without paying a single cent. Articles are one of the best online marketing investments you can make because you write them once and they send you instant visitors each and every day. The more articles you have circulating the internet, the more targeted traffic they will send to your site.
Viral Marketing
What is Viral Marketing?
My Dog Ate My Website
I am really fascinated by the world of on-line marketing. I spend more and more of my time on the net, make more of my purchases from on-line suppliers, but I seem to find out about new about new products on TV, radio, or even mail.
Joint Ventures: Five Powerful Tips for Building JV Relationships
One of the best and fastest ways to build your business and maximize your profits is to develop joint venture partnerships. Here a five powerful tips that will greatly enhance your ability to build strong, lasting, and mutually beneficial JV relationships.
Marketing Your Networking Group
Several months ago I went on the cruise from hell. It wasn't advertised as a cruise from hell, but instead as an opportunity to check out a networking club, to have fun, to see what this particular group had to offer . . . but make no mistake, it was the cruise from hell.
A New Way to Profit From Your Content-Based Website
"It's a labor of love." That's how I've always described my content-based
website. Until the last year or so, what I meant is that my website paid me
in love more frequently than it paid in money. And if visitor compliments
and good karma paid the mortgage, that would have been fine.
5 Things Every Internet Marketer Must Learn From Mail Order To Increase Their Profits Now!
Understanding that the Internet is another vehicle for
direct response marketing can potentially make you
rich!
The Google Toolbar & Search Engine Optimization
Like many other useful toolbars out there so is the Google Toolbar. I consider this toolbar a must have for any serious search engine optimizer and anyone who searches the internet on a regular basis. Here's why? The Google Toolbar has grown significantly in features since inception. It now features several new useful features but the main focus of this article is on those that aid in search engine optimization. So without further ado here's the Google Toolbar unfolded.
An Internet Marketing Solutions Company Confesses
a) An internet marketing solutions company tells you that they're going to have Google index your website in 2 days?
|